How will achild-care worker be
notified when background informa-
tionisreleased?

A child-care worker will be notified by mail
each time the registry receives a request for
information on his or her background. The
notification will list the name and address
of the person making the request and the
background information that was released.

What if a child-care worker does not
agree with the results of the back-
ground check?

A child-care worker has the right to appeal
whether the background information was
correctly transferred to the registry. An
appeal needs to be filed in writing to the
address below within 30 days of receiving
the background check results in the mail.

Where can achild-care worker get a
registration form or additional
information?

Family Care Safety Registry

912 Wildwood, P.O. Box 570

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570

Toll-Free: 866/422-6872

Fax: 573/522-6981

Web Site: www.health.state.mo.us/ FCSR
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Alternate forms of this publication for persons
with disabilities may be obtained by contacting
the Missouri Department of Health (listed above).
Hearing impaired citizens telephone
1-800-735-2966.
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What is the Family Care Safety
Registry?

Missouri’s Family Care Safety Registry was
established by law to promote family and
community safety. The registry helps to
protect children and the elderly in this state by
providing access to background information
on registered child-care and elder-care workers
and licensure information on licensed
providersthrough:

 Sstate criminal background records
maintained by the Missouri State
Highway Patrol

Child abuse/neglect records maintained
by the Division of Family Services

The Employee Disqualification List
maintained by the Division of Aging
Child-care facility licensing records
maintained by the Department of Health
Foster parent, residential care facility and
child placing agency licensing records
maintained by the Division of Family
Services

O Residential living facility and nursing
home licensing records, maintained by
the Division of Aging
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Which child-care workers must
register?

Any person hired as a child-care worker on
or after January 1, 2001, is required to
register within 15 days of the beginning of
employment. A person will only need to
register one time.

A child-care worker who fails to register
may be guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

How does a child-care worker
register?
A child-care worker may register by sub-
mitting a completed Child-Care Worker
Registration Form, a photocopy of his or
her social security card and a $5.00 registra-
tion fee to:

Missouri Department of Health

Fee Receipts Unit

P.O. Box 570

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Who can request background
information from the registry?

Any person planning to hire an individual
to work with children or the elderly can
request and receive information on a
registrant’s background.

What information will be given out on
achild-care worker?

The registry will only release information
on registered child-care workers to persons
calling for employment purposes. Upon
receiving an inquiry, the registry staff will
first verify that the person in question is
registered in the Family Care Safety
Registry. If the person is registered, the
caller will then be told whether the person’s
name appears in any of the background
checks and, if so, which one(s).

Specific information will only be given out
after the registry has received a signed
request from the caller.
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