
Why should I contact my eligibility 
specialist? 
 
You need to let your eligibility specialist 
know why you didn't keep your appointment 
with the Division of Workforce 
Development.   
   
What happens if I don't contact my 
eligibility specialist?    
 
You will be removed from the Food Stamp 
benefits and/or your case will be closed. 
 
What if I must pay a babysitter so I can 
look for work? 
 
If you have young children, you may be 
eligible to receive child care assistance 
while you are actually doing job search or 
job search training.  Ask your eligibility 
specialist for a Child Care application. 
  
 
CIVIL RIGHTS LAW 
 
In accordance with Federal Law and  
U. S. Department of Agriculture policy, this 
institution is prohibited from discriminating 
on the basis of race, color, national origin, 
sex, age, religion, political beliefs, or 
disability. 
 

  
Any person who believes s/he may have been the 
object of such discrimination may file a written 
complaint with the County office, the Family 
Support Division, or with the United States 
Department of Agriculture, giving the specific 
details as to how and when the discrimination took 
place.  
 
Send complaints to the Office of Civil Rights, P. O. 
Box 1527, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. 
 
For more information, contact your local Family 
Support Division office. 
 

Missouri Department of Social Services 
P. O. Box 1527 

Jefferson City, MO 65102 
 

To file a complaint of discrimination write: 
 

USDA 
Director, Office of Civil Rights 

1400 Independence Avenue, SW 
Washington, DC 20250-9410 

or call 
(800) 795-3272 (voice) or 

(202)720-6382 (TTY) 
 
 

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and 
employer 
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What is work registration? 
 
Work registration is registering with the Division of 
Workforce Development to find a job.   
 
Who must register for work? 
 
Job ready Food Stamp participants over the age of 
15 and under age 60 who are unemployed or under-
employed must register for work.   
 
How do you decide who is job ready?   
 
An assessment is completed at every Food Stamp 
application interview with your eligibility specialist.  
At that time you and your eligibility specialist 
determine who in your household is job ready and 
who is exempt or excluded from work registration. 
 
Reasons members of your household may be 
exempt or exluded from work registration include, 
but are not limited to:   

• s/he is caring for a child under age 6,  
• s/he is disabled (receiving disability 

payments such as Social Security or SSI),  
• s/he is 60 years of age or older, 
• s/he is already employed and working at 

least 30 hours per week, or earning income 
that is more than 30 hours times the federal 
minimum wage, 

• s/he has a temporary mental or physical 
disability such as an individual recovering 
from surgery,  

• she is in her third trimester of pregnancy, 
and 

• s/he has no personal car, no available 
public transportation, or no other means of 
transportation to the DWD office.  

 
Those who are job ready, are not exempt or 
excluded, and are unemployed or under-employed 
are mandatory work registrants. 
    

 How do mandatory work registrants become 
registered for work?  
 
Mandatory work registrants are subject to the 
Missouri Employment and Training Program 
(METP) participation requirements.  These 
individuals are automatically referred to the 
Division of Workforce Development (DWD).  The 
Division of Workforce Development sends 
mandatory work registrants an appointment letter 
telling them the date, time, and place to report. 
 
What happens when I go to the Division of 
Workforce Development? 
 
The Division of Workforce Development screens 
you against their job bank for employment 
opportunities.  You must also look for work by 
contacting a specified number of employers and 
reporting back to the Division of Workforce 
Development.   
 
The Division of Workforce Development will give 
you another appointment to return with your 
completed job search log. 
 
Is there any help for me to cover my expenses? 
   
If you have transportation expenses because you 
are looking for a job, you may be eligible for a $25 
check after you complete your first four weeks of 
job search.   
 
Upon successful completion of your second four 
weeks of job search, you may be eligible to receive 
a second $25 check. 
 
 
 
 

 Who do I contact if I don't get my check? 
 
Contact your Family Support Division (FSD) 
eligibility specialist. 
 
What if I can't keep my appointment?   
 
If you can't keep your appointment with the Division 
of Workforce Development, contact the person who 
sent you the letter before your scheduled 
appointment.  Don't wait until after your 
scheduled appointment.  Remember they have 
set aside time for you and it is important that you 
let them know you cannot keep your appointment.  
 
What happens if I miss my appointment?   
 
If you miss your appointment, the Division of 
Workforce Development automatically sends that 
information to the Family Support Division.  You will 
receive a notice from the Family Support Division 
telling you to contact your eligibility specialist. 

Mandatory work registrants who fail to participate in 
the Missouri Employment and Training Program 
when called in by the Division of Workforce 
Development are disqualified from the Food Stamp 
Program: 

• until s/he complies the first time, 

• a minimum of three months or until 
compliance whichever is longer the 
second time, and  

• a minimum of six months or until 
compliance, whichever is longer the 
third or more times.   

 
 
 



 
 

 
 

    


