
About Hearings . . . 

If you think you have been denied 
benefits unfairly for any reason, you 
can call, write, or come in to the 
Family Support Division office and 
request a hearing within 90 days 
after the decision. You will get a 
letter telling you the time, date and 
place of the hearing. You can tell 
your story or have it told by an 
attorney, a relative, or a friend. If you 
wish, you may also have a hearing 
before your case is closed. 

If you think you have been denied 
benefits unfairly because of your 
age, race, color, handicap, sex, 
religious creed, national origin or 
political belief, you can send a 
written complaint to the county 
office, the State Family Support 
Division in Jefferson City or the 
Federal Department of Health and 
Human Services in Washington DC, 
stating the details of how and when 
you were discriminated against. 

You will need to contact your 
eligibility specialist from time to time 
to report changes or ask questions. 
Write the name and phone number 
below so they will be handy. 

Eligibility Specialist: ______________ 

Telephone No.: __________________ 

KEEP THIS FOLDER FOR FUTURE REFERENCE 

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY/AFFIRMATIVE ACTION EMPLOYER

Services provided on a nondiscriminatory basis
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MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
helps needy persons 

who are not eligible for 
other cash public 

assistance programs 
pay their medical bills. 

About your card . . . 

Your permanent Medicaid 
identification card will be mailed 
within about 3 days of your 
application’s approval. It is to be 
used to get medical care from 
doctors, hospitals, and pharmacists 
that accept Medicaid. 

1)	 If you move, you must make sure 
your eligibility specialist has 
your new address. Medicaid 
cards cannot be forwarded. 

2)	 If you are out of the state to make 
your home in another state, you 
will be ineligible for Medical 
Assistance in Missouri. 

3)	 If your name is spelled wrong or 
your birthdate is wrong, notify 
your eligibility specialist. 

4)	 If your card is lost, destroyed, or 
stolen, call your eligibility 
specialist immediately. 

About Getting
Medical Care . . . 

1)	 You may go to any doctor (M.D. or 
D.O.), hospital, or pharmacist you 
want so long as he or she 
accepts Medicaid patients, 
unless you are enrolled in a 
managed care plan; then, you 
must contact your health plan to 
obtain services. 

2)	 When you go for medical care, 
take your Medicaid card with you. 
The provider must see the card to 
verify that you are eligible for 
Medicaid on the date you obtain 
the medical service. 

3)	 It is against the law to lend, sell, 
or otherwise misuse your 
Medicaid card. You could be 
fined or go to jail if you do so. 

About Eligibility . . . 

If any of the following things change, 
YOU ARE REQUIRED BY LAW to 
notify the county office since this 
may change eligibility for Medical 
Assistance. 

1) If your income increases, 
decreases, or comes from a 
different place. 

2)	 If there is a change in your 
resources (if you buy, sell, or 
inherit real estate or get cash, 
bonds, notes or mortgages). 

3)	 If you change your address. 

4)	 If you get divorced, married or 
become widowed. 

5)	 If you get a job, lose your job, or 
change jobs. 

6)	 If you are disabled and later 
regain your health, or get better. 

IF YOU FAIL TO REPORT ANY 
OF THE CHANGES LISTED 
ABOVE OR ANYTHING ELSE 
WHICH MIGHT CHANGE YOUR 
ELIGIBILITY, YOU ARE 
BREAKING THE LAW AND YOU 
COULD BE FINED OR GO TO 
JAIL. 

About Reinvestigations . . . 

Reinvestigations of Medical 
Assistance are done annually. A 
reinvestigation can be completed 
based on information from another 
program such as a food stamp 
application. If there is no other 
program, you will get a letter from 
the county office about every 12 
months telling you to complete a 
reinvestigation form to make sure 
you are still eligible. In some cases, 
the eligibility specialist might come 
to your home to help complete the 
form. You must cooperate in this 
check of your continued eligibility. 

If your adjusted monthly income is 
higher than the current Medical 
Assistance income limit, you would 
be a spenddown. You will receive 
information regarding spenddown 
and how it is met from your eligibility 
specialist. 


