
Know Your Rights: A Guide to Consumer Rights  
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Statement of Consumer Rights 
You have the right to: 

 Services without discrimination of age, race, religion, 
ethnicity, family background, sexual orientation or 
disability 

 Be treated with respect 

 Be active in making a service plan that meets your needs 

 Refuse to participate in services 

 Know and understand what may happen if you refuse to 
accept services that are offered 

 Protection of confidential information according to state 
statutes 

Filing a Grievance 
If you have a concern about the services you received 
through the Children’s Division, you may file a grievance. 
Anyone who received services within the last 30 days can 
file a grievance. If a child under the age of 12 would like to 
file a grievance, they will need the help of a parent, 
guardian, out-of-home care provider, or Guardian Ad 
Litem (GAL). 

The grievance process cannot help with complaints about 
a court ruling, a current state statute, judicial assignments 
(including the GAL or Court Appointed Special Advocate), 
foster/adoptive licensing revocations or denials, or any 
subsidy denials. 

To file a grievance, visit your local Children’s Division office 
and ask for a Service Delivery Grievance Form (CS-131). 
Follow the instructions and complete Section A of the form 
and return it to your local office. 

Contact Us 
Visit dss.mo.gov/cd/office to find the contact information for an 
office near you. Our offices are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday 
through Friday. 

To report concerns of child abuse or neglect, call the Child 
Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-392-3738. The Child Abuse 
and Neglect Hotline is answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 
365 days a year. 

 Receive services in a language that you can understand 

 Legal representation in any court proceedings affecting 
your child 

 File a formal grievance if you feel you are treated unfairly 

 Insert a statement in your case record, and if personnel 
insert a statement in response, that statement is inserted 
with your knowledge, and you have the opportunity to 
review that response 

 Contact an attorney before being interviewed as an 
alleged perpetrator of child abuse and neglect 

Reporting Other Concerns 
Any complaint of discrimination based on race, color, 
national origin, age, sex, disability, religious, or political 
beliefs should be sent to: 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Civil Rights 
P.O. Box 1527 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 
Phone: 1-800-776-8014 
Text/Voice: 1-800-735-2466/1-800-735-2966 

If you have a concern about the outcome of a child abuse 
or neglect investigation, you should file an appeal through 
the Child Abuse and Neglect appeal process. 

Missouri Department of Social Services is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 

TDD/TTY: 800 735 2966, Relay Missouri: 711 
08/20  CS 132 

https://dss.mo.gov/cd/office



